Originally Posted By: Ayuveda

There are three kinds of sovereign governments in the United States. Under the Constitution, the federal government is the “supreme sovereign,” and federal laws can pre-empt state laws. State governments also are sovereign; they retain any powers not specifically given to the federal government under the Constitution.

Only Congress can limit tribal sovereign authority; in the absence of congressional action, tribes are, in the words of the Supreme Court, “domestic dependent nations,’ which exercise inherent sovereign authority over their members and territories.”²

not sovereign