FingerLakes1.com Forums
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#920409 --- 11/18/08 06:09 AM No one would help this little boy.
Gold Member

This little boy was abused until he finally died, and no one stepped up to save him.

Read about it here------>Baby P's story

FingerLakes1.com
#920416 --- 11/18/08 06:38 AM Re: No one would help this little boy. [Re: ]
Strawberry Jam Offline
Diamond Member

Loc: Herkimer County NY
That poor little baby. Stories like his make me see red!

#920549 --- 11/18/08 09:47 AM Re: No one would help this little boy. [Re: Strawberry Jam]
LaughinWillow Offline

Loc: State of Emergency
How horrible. What stood out to me in the story was the fact that the social workers for this boy were reportedly carrying something like twice the permitted caseload. Even though that was England, I saw that happen all the time when I was a child therapist and a supervisor in therapeutic foster care. People who were supposed to have 12 kids on a caseload with 25, 30, 35 kids - and none of them were getting the care they really needed. And impossible to get state funding for anything the child needed that was outside the realm of "absolute necessity" - in one case, I begged the state over and over to pay for special counseling for a 5-year-old girl who had been raped by her parents from birth, and who was constantly trying to molest other children and even animals - every agency I spoke to refused. The way children are treated in our societies is absolutely pathetic - and so is the amount that caseworkers are paid to "protect" our children. You've got a bunch of underpaid, overworked, barely trained people doing a job like keeping children from being harmed? I was once offered $9 an hour to take a job running an entire shelter for battered women and children - a position that required a master's degree. It was the exact job I wanted and was trained for, but I just couldn't support my daughter on that, and the women who ran the shelter couldn't get more funding for t